Tags

, ,

We here at the Vicky A’s went silent on Friday upon hearing of the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, CT. Our hearts, thoughts, and prayers go out to the grieving families and educators and those in their extended community. This link lists a few ways in which you can help, including links to family and mental health counseling networks and a link to the official Sandy Hook School Support Fund, sponsored by the United Way.

Words at a time like this seem meaningless and empty, and yet, few words seem more appropriate in moments of grief than Tennyson. Rest in Peace, sweet children and heroic teachers.

V.

I sometimes hold it half a sin
To put in words the grief I feel;
For words, like Nature, half reveal
And half conceal the Soul within.

But, for the unquiet heart and brain,
A use in measured language lies;
The sad mechanic exercise,
Like dull narcotics, numbing pain.

In words, like weeds, I’ll wrap me o’er,
Like coarsest clothes against the cold:
But that large grief which these enfold
Is given in outline and no more.

XVI
What words are these have falle’n from me?
Can calm despair and wild unrest
Be tenants of a single breast,
Or sorrow such a changeling be?

Or cloth she only seem to take
The touch of change in calm or storm;
But knows no more of transient form
In her deep self, than some dead lake

That holds the shadow of a lark
Hung in the shadow of a heaven?
Or has the shock, so harshly given,
Confused me like the unhappy bark

That strikes by night a craggy shelf,
And staggers blindly ere she sink?
And stunn’d me from my power to think
And all my knowledge of myself;

And made me that delirious man
Whose fancy fuses old and new,
And flashes into false and true,
And mingles all without a plan?

