Tags

, , , , ,

image

This Saturday, the Vicky A Girls had a tea party — a rainbow tea party. A rainbow theme seemed like the perfect way to honor St. Patrick’s Day, Easter, and Spring all at the same time.  Plus, who doesn’t love eating colorful food?  Here’s what was on our menu:

  • Rainbow Lemonade
  • Confetti Cake Batter Scones
  • Rainbow Macarons
  • Tea Sandwiches on Rainbow Bread
  • Fruit Salad
  • Cadbury Chocolate Easter Eggs
First, the rainbow lemonade — I made basic lemonade and added frozen red berries, orange slices, lemon slices, lime slices, frozen blueberries, and frozen blackberries to get all the colors of the rainbow.  I chilled it overnight to let the flavors meld.

image

Next, the rainbow bread!  I used a recipe I found here on The Artistic Farmer.  I followed her recipe pretty much exactly and it turned out to be spectacular.  Look at those colors!  I was so pleased with how this turned out – it was almost too pretty to eat.  Plus, the recipe makes two loaves, so my husband and I had rainbow sandwiches all week at work.  Cool for me, embarrassing for husband.

image

Once you have rainbow bread, what can you do but make rainbow tea sandwiches?  I made chicken salad and cucumber sandwiches with sprouts and avocado and then cut them in halves.  I didn’t want to take the crust off the bread like typical finger sandwiches because the crust was too good!

image

Next comes the scones!  We did a whole post on scone-making a while back so I used our basic recipe, which is really Alton Brown’s recipe, but made a few additions.  To make them cake batter scones, I left out a half cup of flour and subbed in a half cup of Pillsbury Funfetti cake batter.  Since packaged cake batter already has baking powder, salt, and sugar in it, I reduced those ingredient quantities by kind of arbitrary amounts – I used my judgment.  I knocked the sugar down by a good bit to keep the scones from being too sweet, and I knocked the baking powder and salt down by just a skosh.  Plus, I mixed in a ton of extra rainbow sprinkles.

image

image

The texture came out right despite the addition of the cake batter, which I was pleased with, but the cake batter flavor was pretty subtle.  Next time I might try to add a bit more.  I mixed some powdered sugar, vanilla, and milk together to create a glaze to make them a bit sweeter and spread that on top.  Scones done!  Time to set the table and wait for the guests.

image

Heather brought fruit salad and another guest brought the macarons, which tasted fantastic and were a beautiful color blue.

image

Plus, Heather brought these which were awesomely perfect for the occasion.

image

Once all the food arrived, it was time for the best part – piling the goodies on the three-tier tray!  Drool…

image

image

But before we can eat we have to choose our tea, and that can be a tough decision when faced with this array of choices:

image

All in all, it was a delightful repast.

Bonus tea party tip:  Real ladies take a little whiskey with their tea.

image

