Tags

, ,

It’s tea time again at the Victorianachronists!  Sunday was a beautiful day – the sun was out, the garden was in bloom – it was a perfect day for tea outdoors.  To go with our tea, I made some delicious (Mostly) Healthy Apple Cookie Butter Bran Muffins.  I used the Bran Muffin recipe from my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook and added the delicious combination of apples and Trader Joe’s Speculoos Cookie Butter.  Have you had this stuff?  It’s incredible.

These muffins turned out really well, and they’re pretty healthy overall.  No white sugar, no butter, and very little oil.  In fact, I accidentally left out the tablespoon of cooking oil in the recipe, and I didn’t miss it at all.  I prepared the batter as directed in the cookbook except that I chopped up an apple and folded it in instead of using the raisins in the recipe. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white.

I filled each muffin cup about halfway and added about a teaspoon of cookie butter into the center of each muffin cup.  I warmed the cookie butter in the microwave to make it a little easier to spoon onto the muffins.

After adding the cookie butter, I added the rest of the batter on top.

After baking for the prescribed time, the muffins came out gooey and delicious.

I am my toughest critic when it comes to cooking, and I have definitely tried a few things that did not turn out so well (see our Sacher Torte post), but I was really pleased with these muffins.  The apple/cookie butter combination is so good that it’s hard to go wrong when you put the two together.  When we ran out of muffins, and I told Heather it was time for her to go home, she got so upset that she spilled her tea on herself in despair.  The evidence is on the ground.

God, we’re sophisticated.  Until next time!

