Tags

, , , ,

Sometimes everything strangely comes together in a perfect (media) storm. That seems to be the case with Jane Austen this week. Two things of note sprang up yesterday and today. First, this trailer for Austenland, starring Keri Russell as a woman so obsessed with all things Austen that she heads to an Austen theme park/getaway of sorts for period costume/cosplay fun (uhhh, is the NSA monitoring my home? I’m pretty sure Katherine and I would do this for real). It also features Jennifer Coolidge (of the American Pie series), Jane Seymour and BRET MCKENZIE of Flight of the Conchords and Lord of the Rings fame (he plays Lindir (or Figwit for those of you/us REALLY in the know) ). His name gets caps-locked because I’m really excited to see him as a Wickhamesque character in the film. UNF.

Secondly, this ridiculous statue of Darcy.

No, I mean it. WTF is this.  It’s supposed to be recreating one of the hottest moments in the A&E Pride and Prejudice and it just ends up well, falling flat on its face. Just terrifying. I’m going to be seeing this in my nightmares. The swans look a bit confused as well.

What say you, Dear Readers? Are we excited for Austenland? What would you want to see in a real-life Austenland? Should the Darcy statue be sent to Davy Jones’ locker?

