Tags

,

Back in April, we posted about an exciting discovery Heather and I made while cleaning out my grandmother’s attic together.  We found a journal kept by my great-great-grandmother who lived in Victorian England and who also happened to be a close friend of Heather’s great-great-grandmother.  They were both members of high society and well-known patrons of the arts and so moved in very influential circles.  This journal contained pages and pages of interviews our ancestors had with famous Victorians.  You can imagine our thrill at finding such a piece of history!  The first transcription we shared was an interview they had with the great Jules Verne.  Today, I want to share an interview with another very eminent personage that they conducted while travelling in the US — the scientist Nikola Tesla.

Katherine’s Great-Great-Grandmother:  Thank you so much for joining us for tea, Mr. Tesla.  It is an honor to meet you.

How you doin'?

Nikola Tesla:  The pleasure is mine, madams.

Heather’s Great-Great-Grandmother:  Oh.  Oh my.  Well…uh…phew, that was very…wow, you’re a charmer.  Um…<fans self>…

Katherine’s GGG:  Yeah, boy, I didn’t expect you to be so…ok, let’s move on.  First question…gosh, where are my notes…oh, haha…here they are.  Um…where was I…ok, um, what inspired you to invent the light bulb?

Nikola Tesla: Pardon me?  Madam, I am afraid I must have misunderstood.  I must have been distracted by the lovely sound of your voice.  I did not invent the light bulb.  Thomas Edison “invented” the light bulb, and I use the term “invented” very loosely.

Heather’s GGG:  Hah…haha…oh, silly us.  Phew, is it warm in here, Katherine?  Wow, I’m just…my notes are all damp…I can’t even read…

Katherine’s GGG:  Yes, I…I definitely feel like it might…might be getting really…hot in here.  Let me just…EXCUSE ME – Mr. Tesla!

I'm just happy to see you.

Nikola Tesla:  Yes?  Is something wrong?  I thought I would give you ladies a little demonstration.

Heather’s GGG:  I just…holy smokes…I need to leave.

Katherine’s GGG:  I’m so…wow…yes, I’m very sorry, Sir, I’m not sure what is making us so…hysterical.  Perhaps…perhaps we should continue this interview some other time?

Nikola Tesla:  Certainly.  I am at your service, ladies.  No matter what I am doing, you ladies will always come first.  

Katherine’s GGG:  <faints>

