Tags

, ,

It’s Tuesday, and that means it’s time to talk about tea!  This week, I want to talk about red tea, or Rooibos.  Technically, rooibos is not a real tea.  It’s a tisane, which means it is a naturally decaffinated herbal blend or infusion.  Most “red” teas are likely rooibos or some herbal mix with rooibos.  The plant is grown in South Africa where it has been popular for many years, but it has only recently begun to make its way into Western teapots.  The tea is traditionally served with milk and sugar, but I like mine straight up because the tea itself has a slightly sweet taste.  I also love the warm, red color and slightly sweet aroma.  

I had a lovely cup at Christy Hill Lakeside Bistro in Tahoe City about a year ago (see photo at top), and I’ve been meaning to post about it ever since.  The restaurant carried “Tahoe Teas” brand teas, and I got the “Tahoe Red.”  

The website describes it as a chocolate raspberry rooibos blend.  How could you pass that up?  Clearly, I couldn’t.  The package above calls it, “Awe Inspiring.”  That may be taking it a bit too far, but sitting on the shore of Lake Tahoe, watching the sky turn the same warm orange as my tea as the sun set…that was pretty awe inspiring.

In the office, I have been drinking the cost-effective Twinings version which I also quite enjoy.  How about you all – anyone else enjoy a cup of red on occasion?

