Tags

,

First of all, we have been woefully, woefully negligent in maintaining this blog recently.  Blame it on the holidays, blame it on the lack of internet at Katherine’s house for a week, blame it on…laziness?  No, don’t blame it on that.  Whatever the cause (and it’s mostly the holidays), we have been away for a while and will probably only post infrequently from now until the New Year.  Now with that out of the way…

I was recently perusing the New York Times’s Book section and found a review of Minae Mizumura’s A True Novel.  Check out the review here.  The book is described as being a modern, Japanese interpretation of Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights.  You may know that Heather and I have strong and contradictory feelings about Wuthering Heights, but despite my general distaste for Bronte’s novel, I am intrigued by the premise of Mizumura’s.  Her story takes place in post-war Japan, which is a time and place I know little about.  After my recent trip to that fascinating country, I have a new interest in all things Japanese.  The review says that Mizumura takes an iconically Western story and manages to adapt it in a way that is entirely Japanese.  Sounds fascinating!  Has anyone read this?

