Tags

, ,

Exactly one month ago, the world became a much sadder place. Harold Ramis died at the age of 69, leaving us an incredible legacy of brilliant comedies and film-making. It is a virtual guarantee that something this man has written, produced, or directed made you laugh in this lifetime: SCTV, Stripes, Animal House, Caddyshack, National Lampoon’s Vacation (and anything Clark Griswold, since he advised Chevy Chase on how the role should be played), Ghostbusters, Groundhog Day, Analyze This, and the list goes on.

If you couldn’t tell by this wicked great blog Katherine and I have going on here, I’ve been something of a geek my whole life. I downright worshipped this sardonic braniac when I was a kid and saw in him all the intellectual, knowledge-seeking, sarcastic joke-cracking, marshmallow-destroying glory I sought in life (I will always nurse a wicked crush on Egon Spengler. Definitely the hottest Ghostbuster). To say that his death hit me hard would be something of an understatement. No, I never met the guy, but he was a big part of my childhood and was taken from us way too soon.

Here’s a hilarious skit from his SCTV days: Curtis Edgit: Plainclothes Mountie.

As for the tenuous connection of Harold Ramis to anything Victorian, here’s a hilarious poster for a 19th century/Steampunk version of the Ghostbusters.

Yes, indeed. I’d watch a series all about these spectral eliminators. You know the song is in your head right now.

Godspeed, GrandDude. Thank you for all the laughs, past, present, and future. You gave us a lot of happiness; so we got that going for us, which is nice.

