Tags

, ,

Just yesterday, Taffy Brodesser-Akner posted a wonderful profile of one Tom Hiddleston in GQ. It’s extremely delightful, just like its subject, and is highly recommended reading (his enthusiasm about the Bolognese made me grin). Today also just so happens to be his actual birthday! If you’ve been following this blog for any period of time, you might be aware that we’re rather fond of this charming, dashing, sincere gentleman. I personally had the utter pleasure and delight of meeting him at Wizard World Philadelphia in 2016 and I still haven’t recovered from the encounter. He was incredibly kind, gracious, and endearing; so many people turned out to see him and he stayed late into the night to make sure everyone got their autographs and pictures. He also donated the entirety of his convention paycheck to charity.

(And, yes, since I know you all are wondering: he is, in fact, heart-stoppingly gorgeous in person. I’ve done a decent job thus far maintaining my composure in the presence of some of my favorite celebrities at conventions, but he’s enough to make even my steely hands shake.)

I truly can’t say enough wonderful things about him; I was crazy about him before but seeing his generosity, enthusiasm, and warmth in person cemented things for me for perpetuity.

So, to honor his 36th birthday, I give you an indulgent post filled with pictures of his beautiful self wearing Victorian period clothing. Let’s start with Crimson Peak, shall we?

Last year, Katherine and I held a tea party viewing of this lush movie. It was visually stunning, and not just because of this man (but let’s face it: he’s the jewel of the flick. The clothing, the house, and the always wonderful Doug Jones are the other jewels.).

Our beloved Hiddles stars as Thomas Sharpe,  a mysterious lord with mysterious intentions and a wonderfully Gothic fashion sense.

I mean, gracious:

b1ef2ceafe33e01298c7cba1c47824df

And he looks so wonderful in hats:

4314518e69fcb54207eb4ff5ecc6603a

He knows how to make an entrance:

fa75eb00-5a52-0133-8fa6-0e17bac22e39

And how to dance:

2b31dcb0-5a5a-0133-8fa4-0e17bac22e39

Oh, and, uh, how to do other things too:

7ff5c3d0-5a5d-0133-8fa7-0e17bac22e39

All I’d want to ask him is:

732a2809c2d6c11d291e558d7ac90af8

Is this even really a question?

He also starred in a few other Victorian-era pieces, notably The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby in 2001 (which was his VERY FIRST MOVIE and also features my fave James D’Arcy as the titular character). Here we get to see him looking very concerned and snooty while wearing top hats and ascots:

the-life-and-adventures-of-nicholas-nickleby-tom-hiddleston-26223416-500-280

Terribly concerned, chaps.

In 2008, he starred in Miss Austen Regrets, a TV movie. Katherine and I immediately decided that this is going in our Netflix queue. A movie about Jane Austen featuring Hiddles and Lord Grantham??

1e96e6cf1a14db2482a4699d525aa0e5

This face is absurd. I don’t know what to do with myself.

And suddenly:

tumblr_lvpaw5vugu1qbzdxyo1_250

WHATEVER THE QUESTION THE ANSWER IS *YES*.

And, of course, the TV series Cranford in 2009:

maxresdefault

*throws hands up in despair*

I imagine that most of these wardrobe/costume designers must have a field day dressing him:

6d9c7d1834c0ea7a2d7171c65ef85b0e

I don’t know what is going on here but it’s adorable:

CRANFORD

He butters us up with his charm and good looks and then fells us with the killing blow:

tumblr_mgbnv3ni3f1qe8a0fo1_500

Yes, Tom. We do too. Happy Birthday, you wondrous man, you. You’ve truly won our hearts.

