Tags

, ,

I covered Rufus Sewell’s charming portrayal of Lord Melbourne a few days ago. Let’s see him again, just for giggles.

rufus2

I could cut myself slapping that face.

For all of you Vicbourne shippers out there (points at self), I have an article that might just ruin it for you. In case actual history hasn’t already ruined it for you (me).

There’s a new book out called “Victorians Undone: Tales of the Flesh in the Age of Decorum” by Kathryn Hughes.  The book doesn’t focus specifically on Queen Victoria, but the tidbit the Daily Mail picks out is about her and Lord M.  Apparently, Lord Melbourne advised Victoria in more than just matters of state.  He suggested she bathe more often and eat less.  I dare a man to tell me to eat less.  Bathe more…ok, sure.

Here’s the article: Daily Mail says Victoria smelled

According to Hughes’s book, when Victoria started gaining weight, Lord M recommended that she only eat when she’s hungry.  He also suggested she bathe more frequently because apparently she smelled pretty funky [1].  So all those soulful looks Rufus Sewell gives Jenna Coleman in Victoria are really just him concentrating really hard on breathing through his mouth?  No wonder he keeps sending her flowers to wear.

sewell_smelly.gif

Imma take a step back.

Here’s a review of the book in The Guardian.

[1] But didn’t everyone smell back then?  Who was bathing regularly in 1830’s England?  I’m doubt Melbourne smelled like Old Spice all day long.

